Skip to Content
By Mark Swanson on  1/3/2018

JBC Technologies Achieves ISO 9001:2015 Certification

JBC Technologies Achieves ISO 9001:2015 Certification

JBC Technologies, a precision die cutter with value-added solutions, is now ISO 9001:2015 certified. According to the International Standards Organization (ISO), ISO 9001:2015 is replacing ISO 9001:2008, an older quality standard with a focus that’s more prescriptive than performance-based. In other words, ISO 9001:2015 places a greater emphasis on measuring and assessing the input and output of processes. 

Organizations have until September 2018 to switch from ISO 9001:2008 to ISO 9001:2015, but JBC Technologies completed this transition in December 2017. Many die cutters and gasket fabricators talk about quality, but JBC’s ISO 9001:2015 certification demonstrates our commitment to quality-driven customers in the automotive, appliance, electronics, HVAC, medical, and aerospace markets. 

ISO 9001 and ISO 9001:2015 

ISO 9001:2015 is part of ISO 9001, the world’s most commonly used standard for defining a quality management system (QMS). ISO 9001 standards aren’t laws, but they define agreed-upon best practices for achieving a high level of quality. According to ISO, a QMS is a set of policies, processes, and procedures that are required for creating and delivering a company’s products and services. 

As an ISO 9001:2015 certified company, JBC maintains a QMS that shows how we can consistently meet your quality and service requirements. Other ISO 9001 standards also define QMS requirements, but only ISO 9001:2015 requires certification. To understand why ISO 9001:2015 certification is so important, a comparison to ISO 9001:2008 is instructive. 

ISO 9001:2015 vs. ISO 9001:2008 

ISO 9001:2015 differs from ISO 9001:2018 in several important ways. First, ISO 9001:2015 has seven main principles:

  • Customer focus
  • Leadership
  • Employee engagement
  • Process approach
  • Improvement
  • Evidence-based decision making
  • Relationship management 

The main clauses of this new ISO standard are arranged in a Plan, Do, Check, Act (PDCA) cycle, a four-step management method for the control and continuous improvement of processes and products.   

ISO 9001:2015 also assigns a more prominent role to risk-based thinking. That’s because determining an organization’s risks and opportunities can increase the overall effectiveness of its QMS. Specifically, ISO 9001:2015 incorporates the concept of preventive action, which the new standard addresses through risk identification and risk mitigation. Risk analysis is a key factor in how business processes are managed. 

Choose Quality Die Cutting from JBC 

ISO certification isn’t a law or a license, but JBC’s recent achievement reflects a trusted level of quality. How can we help you with your next die cutting project? To get started, contact the JBC Sales Team.


Subscribe to Receive Email Updates

Subscribe to Receive Email Updates